The Monroe Tote

Our newest tote is a combination of the Mason and Madison totes, is named for Monroe County, Kentucky.

Monroe County is the only county of the 2,957 in the United States named for a President where the county seat is named for his Vice-President. The county was formed in 1820; the 65th in order of formation and named for James Monroe the fifth President and author of the Monroe Doctrine. The county seat named Daniel Tompkins, the sixth Vice-President of the United States.

Confederate Gen. John Hunt Morgan's Raiders, coming from Tennessee, attacked Major Thomas J. Jordan's 9th Pennsylvania Cavalry here on July 9, 1862.

Home of the Old Mulkey Meetinghouse State Historic Site. The 20-acre park features the oldest log meeting house in Kentucky, built in 1804. Many Revolutionary War soldiers and pioneers, including Daniel Boone's sister, Hannah, are buried there. The structure has twelve corners in the shape of a cross and three doors, symbolic of the Holy Trinity. The site became part of the park system in 1931.

Shop the Collection.

Visit Kentucky! #TravelKY #ExploreKentucky

Old Mulkey Meetinghouse

Cumberland River Ferry

The Monroe County Marble Super Dome

Steurer & Co. Monroe Leather Tote, Louisville, KentuckySteurer & Co. Leather Monroe Tote, Louisville, KentuckySteurer & Co. Leather Monroe Tote, Louisville, Kentucky